‘What You’re Asking: Bad Neptune, the Skinny on Synastry, and Gettin’ Busy with Aquarius and Pisces’

15th Century French from a Book of Hours

Here’s another tasty sampling of your searches:

I was fired Mercury Retrograde

I’m very sorry to hear this; losing a job is one of the most stressful experiences there is. I’m assuming you’re asking if it makes any difference that you were fired during the Mercury Retrograde–and my answer would be that it could. There are a number of possibilities: the boss could regret his or her actions; the firing could be illegal, incomplete, or in some way invalid; the paperwork to authorize or make official the firing could be lost, delayed, or improperly prepared, and so possibly negate the firing; you could have *gasp* misunderstood, and not be fired at all (admittedly, that’s unlikely); there could be a reversal of the decision, probably after Mercury’s direction; your firing could have been a simple mistake; or (and this is my favorite) you could discover something after Merc’s direction that means you’re glad to be out of there. The only thing we can be sure of is that all parties to the firing are probably ill-informed about some aspect of the circumstances or persons involved–and that opens the door on a vast number of potentials.

Do you want the job back? Or do you think this might be a blessing in disguise, either removing you from an undesirable environment or putting you on the path to something better? Answering these questions honestly will help you sort it out–and if you’d like to file an appeal or petition a higher-up to reconsider, do it now, before Mercury goes direct on April 23rd, when both you and your former employer may lose interest in reviewing your options with each other.

Are Pisces and Aquarius promiscuous?

The Fish and the Waterbearer are no more promiscuous than any other sign–though it does make me wonder that you’re asking about these two. Have you perhaps confused the spacey, dreamy, unengaged manner of Pisces in relationship for a lack of caring, or a wandering eye (or heart, or other body part)? And does Aquarius seem too cold and distant, appearing as if she or he couldn’t care less about a relationship with you? These assumptions are common mistakes people make when in a relationship with Pisces or Aquarius–those traits that seemed so attractive at first make us insecure and hurt when they are viewed up close, one-on-one. Don’t assume that just because Aquarius or Pisces doesn’t relate as you do that they’re fooling around; in fact, both are generally on the more dedicated end of the relationship spectrum, with Aquarius up for a quick encounter but taking the interaction very very seriously (think of Aquarius’ ancient ruler Saturn in this regard) and Pisces seeming to want to drift from love fest to love fest, but actually focused on finding the idealized ‘One’–so in either case, the cool or carefree exterior hides the true intent.

Nodes forming Mystic Rectangle synastry

This is an interesting cross-chart configuration, suggesting that each person may offer extraordinary support to the other on the life Path. This doesn’t necessarily mean, however, that you are destined to be together, or even in each other’s lives for long–this is a contact that says the two together, in whatever context, create an almost magically strong dynamic supporting the destined direction of life development for each of them–and this may not appear to be positive–that can be a love affair that doesn’t work out, one person in charge of the other and making major decisions, or a brief but important encounter like a car accident, as much as it might be finding the life partner and living happily ever after. The remainder of the chart contacts likely tell a complete interaction story.

September 23rd Soul/ slice of space-time September 23

I loved the approach of this person; she or he didn’t just want to know about someone born on that date, they wanted to know about the Soul of someone who would choose to enter this plane on that date–a big distinction, in my view. This seemed to me to be a sincere seeker, using google for the one kind of information it is least equipped to adequately supply. I wish this individual much luck in their search; the only thing I can suggest is to get off the computer and take a very long look at whomever they’re investigating, observing without personal biases or filters–a willingness to truly see the individual might best reveal the Soul within. And if I could get my hands on a slice of space-time, I’d serve it right up.

Why is Neptune so bad in astrology?

Neptune is not bad! Like every other energy, Neptune represents some impulses that we find less-than-desirable–but in no way does Neptune force this expression on us–we must be susceptible, too willing to believe the lie or the illusion, too easily deceived or willing to deceive, too quick to abdicate responsibility to confusion or ineptitude. These are all ways we interpret the energy, not the energy itself. The way we choose to respond and deal with Neptunian (or any) energies tells us where our strengths (in this case, creativity, the ability to dream, the sense of compassion and Oneness) and our weaknesses may lie. So, an energy shows us our talents and faults, rather than imposing them on us.

the skinny on synastry

In my view, synastry (the meaningful interpretation of contact between placements of the natal charts of two individuals) is an extremely accurate way to gauge the possible success of a relationship. The interaction is laid out in very direct terms, with conjunctions typically figuring as the strongest interaction facets of the relationship. A skilled astrologer can outline the possibilities for you–it’s really not a DIY kind of reading, as it’s relatively complex. But, my book, THE ASTROLOGY OF INTIMATE RELATIONSHIP provides not just explanations, but questions in a workbook format that you and your SO can use to better understand your needs and motivations in relationships–so, it’s the next best thing to a synthesis of the two charts by an experienced astrologer.

How is Saturn butterfly born?

With a lot of hard work and persistence, probably from a concrete cocoon–but oh, what a sturdy butterfly that would be!

born with Aries Point on the Ascendant/ Descendant axis

If the Aries Point touches the Ascendant by conjunction, you might be the kind of person who seems to instigate a great many things–a kind of magnetic personality that serves to launch, to borrow a phrase, a thousand ships. If the Aries Point rests on the Descendant, it might be a matter of events and action swirling around you–the calm eye of the storm. This could also indicate exceptional talents at manifesting or creating, with the placement of Mars providing hints as to the arena (by House) and nature (by sign) of the abilities.

astrological irritability

Somehow I don’t think it’s astrology that causes irritability 🙂

5 thoughts on “‘What You’re Asking: Bad Neptune, the Skinny on Synastry, and Gettin’ Busy with Aquarius and Pisces’

  1. Wb April 5, 2011 / 6:05 am

    Awesome Q&A!

    Was wondering if you could answer one for me. I have a yod,…actually, it’s two quincunx that form an “X” over the 10th — Mars in 3rd 24Cap (Quin 24Leo in 10th), sextile Saturn 6Aries 5th (Quin to Jupiter 4Virgo) and PoF AQ in 4th, the middle of the sextile.

    I keep hearing how this is supposed to TELL me something,…about how I ought to direct my energy, but have been confused what it’s telling me (Sun conj Nept in 2nd)– ugh!

    When Mars stationed itself over Leo 2009-2010, it DEFINITELY lit up,…and NOT in a good way. Oh my! I’m still recovering.

    What might I expect when Uranus hits that Saturn in the 5th? What might I expect when Pluto hits that Mars,…further on? Any thoughts?

    Hello Wb,
    First, the power of a Yod is found in making the base sextile work; only then can the combined energies funnel down the arm of the Yod and into the apex planet–until then, it’s all confusion. Second, if I understand you correctly, you’re calling Mars at 24 Cap sextile Saturn at 6 Aries–that’s far too wide an orb–there’s no sextile there.
    If you really want to know what it signifies, you need to address this through a reading from a competent astrologer–a reliable assessment isn’t possible without seeing the whole chart (and I don’t do readings in the comments section of any blog, and this blog takes questions only on relationships).
    Good luck on investigating your chart–
    jd

  2. Wb April 5, 2011 / 6:09 am

    Forgot to mention,…Chiron 25Pisces 5th forms a perfect yod (sextile 24Cap Mars in 3rd) towards that 24Leo Moon.

  3. NR April 5, 2011 / 10:26 am

    Sept 23: There are books about that, that cover a particular birthday. Cheiro’s numerology/birthday books come to mind. He combines the sun sign with the number. 23 is Mercury.

    Thank you, Neeti. My feeling is that we need the year, place, and time, in order to pinpoint where and when (time and space) the Soul entered–I guess that’s why I prefer astrology to any other system 🙂 though I do think numerology has a lot to offer, I think more in helping one handle the life vibration through space and time (navigating the daily ocean)

  4. Gabby April 5, 2011 / 2:21 pm

    I like the idea of a Saturn butterfly. 🙂

    Me too!

  5. Yoo-ra Kim May 19, 2014 / 2:13 pm

    Hi,

    For long I am searching more infos about the mystic rectangles, especially the nodal mystic rectangles in synastry and trying to find more about the love asteroids as well. Not too much info can be found about them on the net.
    I just saw that you talked about the nodal mystic rectangle in synastry so I was glad and hope you can help me.
    I would like to know if there’s a possibility that I met this person in my past life. And is it possible to meet him again in the future and have a relationship with him? We have a mystic rectangle in our synastry touching the nodes. I mean a rectangle between our North and South Nodes: NN 20,49 in Pisces, SN 20,49 in Virgo, NN 19,54 in Scorpio, SN 19,54 in Taurus. What does it mean?
    Besides this his Mars conjuncts my Moon and my Pars Fortune in Gemini. I know that Mars-Moon connection are very strong and sexual, I feel it too. Plus his Mars is his ruler and it is in my 1st house! And also his South Node 19,54 is between my Sun 26,27 and Jupiter 16,3 in Taurus. I don’t don’t know it is still a conjunction although…
    And what is more interesting that his Venus 9,59 and his Neptune 12,49 conjunct in Saggitarius and they are in my 7th house. Also my Cupido conjuncts with his SN in Scorpio (3 degree orb) And his Juno conjuncts with my SN in Virgo in my 5th house! Furthermore his Eros in Aquarius and conjunct my midheaven.
    What do these mean? It might be a possible relationship/marriage?

    My birthdate: 1988.05.17. His birthdate: 1976.01.10.

    If anyone can help me I would appreciate it!
    Thank you in advance!

    Hello,
    I’m sorry, but this is consultation material, not appropriate for a comment section, as it’s much too complicated to address here. You may want to try a forum or other venue where individuals offer free advice. One thing I can tell you is that no one can promise you there is a relationship here before the fact, much less a marriage–that has to be determined in real-world interaction. Good luck in finding a forum or astrologer who can help you understand the relationship. jd

Comments are closed.